nepasterx.blogg.se

How to spot a fake selmer reference 54
How to spot a fake selmer reference 54











  1. #How to spot a fake selmer reference 54 pro#
  2. #How to spot a fake selmer reference 54 series#

Share of the market was dropping, and even quality control which resulted in some not-as-good later Mark VI’s.Įven so, it was still the mighty Selmer and they did produce a quality horn with the 7. At the time, Selmer was having their problems with the 6. The bottom line is that the Selmer mark VII never became as popular as the Selmer Mark VI. This may be the reason why the Mark 7 weighs slightly more than the 6. I would guess that the composition of materials is also different between these two saxophones and this does relate directly to slightly different tonal characteristics. The overall keywork changed as well so the overall feel isn’t as light and smooth. It’s a bit clumsier to play than on the 6. What are the Differences Between the Mark VII and Mark VII?įor me, the the biggest difference with the 6 and 7 is the larger bottom right hand note cluster. Check out a few more lower priced options for Selmer Saxophones.

#How to spot a fake selmer reference 54 series#

Under $2000 and up to about $2500 you can get the 500 series or the 600 series. Of course you should know that Selmer makes several models that are much lower priced than the Mark 6 and even the mark 7. For some reason the most popular and sought after model is still the Mark VI. There are later Selmer versions such as the Super Action 80 that are also excellent horns.

#How to spot a fake selmer reference 54 pro#

If you’re considering a Selmer pro model then great, you won’t go wrong. I know there are so many really nice saxophones available today, and I’ve even tried a few but nothing that would make me switch. After trying it for about 6 notes I bought it! It just felt perfect…still does. It belonged to a guy named Doug Johnson (keyboardist for rock band Loverboy) who decided he wasn’t using it enough to keep it. I talked my manager into buying me a second horn and that’s when I found my Selmer Mark VI. Then it hit me that if it was to be damaged during a tour, like bumped or dropped on stage I would be really screwed and the band would be out of a saxophone player for at least a day or more. By then I was playing professionally and touring about 300 days a year. This Selmer mark VII was my main and only horn for the next dozen years or so. How I Ended Up With a Selmer Mark VI and a Mark VII Well, these decades later it’s still bare. I figured that this was really cool and one day I’d get a special engraving put on it.

how to spot a fake selmer reference 54

It arrived without any engraving on the bell which seemed weird at first because this was a real trademark for every Selmer saxophone I had seen before. Then my sax teacher made a trip to Paris and offered to pick me up a brand new Selmer Mark VII right from the factory. This sax did the job for the first couple of years. The first saxophone I ever bought was a King Cleveland way back when I started playing as a teenager in the 1970’s. After years of owning these two awesome horns I am finally doing a Selmer Mark VI vs Selmer Mark VII comparison!













How to spot a fake selmer reference 54